I always write the story first and then decide on the title. Well, today was my 36th birthday and it was a good day. I feel like I am 10, 16, 25 years old, I’m not sure what 36 years old is supposed to feel like. I still feel the same. Not sure if anything has changed much. But in terms of circumstances, yes, a lot has happened since my last birthday. Compared to last year, when I was at a low point, I had just resigned from a job that in my mind was one of the best deals I had ever encountered and I, at that moment in time, undeniably regretted the decision. Today, it is one of the best things that I could have done for myself.

There are pro’s and cons to every job that I have ever done, and some jobs have more pros than others. This one was one of those. The problem was, at least to me, was that I wasn’t getting any closer to my dreams. Instead I was in my comfort zone and I was getting uncomfortable. And I did something to make sure that I would never go back.

Why was it a good move? I had some rest before and after going for hajj, just nice. But the hajj experience itself can probably be written into one small book. I have wrote two parts in my facebook wall and saved it in the notes, but there is so much more to write about.

When I was in Mecca, of course there are places where anything you ask for will be granted and boy did I pray for myself, my family, my friends and people in general. Now, looking back, I think God is starting to grant all that I have wished for, in his own due course.

As I write this, I am eating a huge slice of the black forest birthday cake. Yummy. As a marathoner, there is this term carbo-loading so I will just stuff myself without feeling any guilt.

Earlier this year, I had the same mentality I have had almost all my life. I applied for a well paid position in a private healthcare company and I was in the deal, but it turned out to be something else completely so I left after only six months.

I don’t just work to earn though, for me, the most important aspect of any job is to learn. Learn something new, maybe in terms of knowledge or experience, learn new skills, learn and go to new geography and probably one of the most important aspects is to learn and make new contacts.

And tonight, we saw the movie Gravity and just came back from it. If you have not seen it and plan to you must stop reading now. I have been told that I am a spoiler so you have been warned.

I remember seeing the advert and I remember thinking I definitely have to see this one. Then the name “Gravity” just wasn’t interesting enough until I saw Sandra Bullock’s name. It was her that sold the movie to me. If your kids aspire to become astronauts, one the one hand this is a good movie to see because it lets you feel as if you were in outer space with the Sandra and George. On the other hand, it might give you nightmares so I’m not sure whether to recommend it for kids or not. For adults who like movies, yes, I would give it 7/10. Its ok but not great because it was rather slow, but hey, what do you expect given the setting of the movie. And one more thing, they should not have killed off George Clooney’s character so fast. I mean, I agree he should die but why not at the ending?

I understand why they call it gravity, and yes, I love gravity. It keeps us grounded.

