I promised to write a piece on our education system. Suddenly, I don’t feel like I want to write about that anymore, so I wont.
Instead, I’ll write about my daughter. My daughter Suzie (names have been changed to protect identity) has started attending school, I mean kindergarten, for the past one year. 2013 will be a special year for me for various reasons, and one of them is because of the tra…nsformation I have seen in my daughter.
Being the youngest and the only girl in the family, and undoubtedly the cutest (since the brothers are much, much bigger now and would rather die then be called cute), if you said she was spoilt, it would be hard to dispute, but I must say that that would be the fault of the father and the maid, lol.
When Suzie started school earlier this year, I was also starting a new job, returning to so-called clinical practice (well, it was more like pushing unnecessary investigations down people’s throat, but anyways, that is a topic for another status update all-together), I told the HR department to give me two weeks, I’ll start mid-January because my child was beginning school and maybe I jinxed it by saying that or it is in a way, wishful thinking, or rather Murphy’s Law or Law of Attraction, whatever it was, that was the exact time period it took for my daughter to let it (or was it vice versa, I’m not sure).
So there we were, mom and dad, at the school with throngs of other parents sending their little ones. Some were seasoned, the six and five year olds and there were even returning four year olds.
For Suzie, it was probably scary because it was a new place and everyone was strange from the teachers to the other students or kids. Lumped in their class, the vibrant vegetables and fantastic fruits (I could be wrong about the latter class name, sorry), were 2, 3 and four year olds. Some of them were excited and happy, some were quiet, and a few were extremely upset. It was interesting to sit back and watch the kids…for half an hour. Then I thought I could go home, but I wasn’t allowed to. In fact, the first 2-3 days were called ‘trial’ I think, finished a bit earlier than normal, and it was geared more towards getting the little ones happy, and there was minimal ‘teaching and learning’ but more ‘play time’.
After that first week of kindy (well, the last time I remember attending kindy was when I was 6, and I have two other older kids that I just left kicking and screaming at kindy (ok, exaggerating), to be more exact, my eldest did cry but we showed no sympathy, the middle child wanted to go; it’s so middle child of him) and then there was Suzie and mummy attending the first 2 weeks of kindy together. Oh my God…Dad had to go back to work after the first week, lucky him.
So there I was, sitting in all the classes like that movie when the grown up had to go to school. The other kids must be thinking ‘what is this lady doing here?’, but they didn’t say anything and yet I could read it from their eyes…
Finally, the day came when enough was enough. I had to start work and Suzie had to get used to the idea that she will go to school without mummy. It was only 3.5hours per day anyway. I left her crying at the gate. The teacher said the school will call if anything. I felt bad. I even called a few hours later to check if everything was ok. We came early, 30 minutes before the bell rang, and I couldn’t help but spy from outside the fence. She was fine.
It wasn’t all smooth sailing. There were days when she made a scene and the whole neighbourhood probably thought some one was being murdered, when it was just a matter of getting in to the car to go to school. I had to make sure there were no problems on the other side, so I did call to ask the teachers more than once.
There were times when she didn’t want to go to school at all, and I just let her stay home, but not in the early days. This was to send her a clear message that acting up will not result in MC’s.
A few days ago, we attended her first concert. I was so proud to see her on stage. She wasn’t shy or anything, it was amazing. Her voice was loud and clear. She remembered her lines.
When she had make up on I thought, oh my God, she looks like me!
Thank you teachers for making my daughter love school, enjoy playing with her friends and having confidence on stage. We look forward to next year and the one’s after that. — with Mazny Maulud and 8 others.See More
Like · · Promote · Share
