I was specifically asked to write a status update on clinical epidemiologists.
I will try.
During med-school, I’m pretty sure there had been at least a few weeks of epidemiology lectures. Funny, I can’t seem to recall any except for one piece of information (and yes, I am the kind that would have 99% attendance rate for lectures during those years, MBA is a different scenario altogether).
This is my recollection of that one lecture; epidemiology was born during an outbreak of cholera, where the “father of epidemiology” traced all the sick people and identified the cause; a contaminated pipe.
The rest of my status update will be about my first day on the psychiatry ward (as a medical student).
After spending many months on the medical and surgical wards, it was time to start rotating through the other specialties; obs & gynae, ophthalmology, paediatrics, ENT, psychiatry.
I was totally unprepared for my first day on the psychiatry ward.
I remembered arriving at the building on my own, it was very quiet from the outside. Then I had to go through one or two locked doors before entering the main ward. I was used to seeing hospital wards already. The sights, smells and sounds.
As I entered the psychiatry ward, it appeared as if there were no patients. Everyone seemed normal. There were patients roaming around and going about their daily routine. The moment they noticed me, all the patients started gathering around to say hello. At first I welcomed the attention. Within seconds though, I started to feel extremely uncomfortable.
I was just about to panic when a patient reached out to take a pen/book from my hand when a loud voice was heard “x (name of patient), leave the doctor alone”. (Note; still student doctor at that time).
Everybody turned around to look at the head nurse, and then they slowly dispersed. A wave of relief washed over me. I immediately scooted over to introduce myself to the staff who had just ‘saved’ me See More
