The MBA strategy exam is less than two weeks away. Never a big fan of exams either on the receiving end or the giving end, I find myself dreading the inevitable.
Of all the potential cases to study, the lecturer chose “the garment industry”. (Why? Why?) *Rolling of the eyes*. Never will I look at a piece of clothing the same way ever again and shopping for clothes will bring a whole new meaning. …Even now, I look at my clothes and wonder…
Whilst the whole business perspective is interesting and thought-provoking (ehm2x), I continue to be mesmerized by this one fact, “in search of high quality cotton; Egyptian Giza-like cotton, the company decided to venture into cotton farming in Xinjiang, which had the right conditions”. I had no idea desert conditions help cultivate high quality cotton. We don’t know what we don’t know.
At the back of my mind, I really hope I pass this exam feeling amazed.See More
  • Badrisyah Idris When studying for MBA…lots of things can be so mesmerizing.
  • Zimm Zimm Last time is Kodak case study…garment industry? Which company tu dr.? Sounds interesting…
  • Mazlyn Mustapha Esquel in China…I think Kodak way more interesting. I believe Prof Liz chose it for the Eastern CSR perspective…
  • Roza Howton Out of curiosity, do business case studies also take into account environmental impact of introducing non-native plants to a new agricultural zone? The remediation cost can be extremely high/irreversible — or that is a topic that manufacturers tend not to *notice*? I wonder if that should be included into businesses plannings
  • Mazlyn Mustapha Roza Howton: yes and no. Yes; we study ways businesses can reduce harm that they effect on the environment (it is part of the strategy module known as corporate social responsibility), it can be a reactive strategy meaning for example, pollute the rivers first and then clean up OR it can be pre-emptive, meaning treat the waste first prior to releasing the material into the rivers, and that way prevent pollution in the first place. Unfortunately, not all businesses are concerned with environmental impact. As consumers, we have the power to choose which businesses we want to support, I always have preference for green products and companies which care for the environment.
  • Mazlyn Mustapha Roza Howton; now that I have my notes in front of me, corporate social responsibility is a ‘concept whereby companies integrate social and environmental concerns in their business operations and in their interaction with their stakeholders on a voluntary basis, as they are increasingly aware that responsible behaviour leads to sustainable business success’. Commission of the European Communities (2002) cited in van de Ven & Jeurissen (2005 p299)
  • Roza Howton So the model is already in place. That is very good to know. The compliance is still a big issue. Does SE asia have an overseeing body that sets a standard? Even in 1st world countries compliance within governing bodies are “voluntary” and things tend to get somewhat messy in the long run.

    Mazlyn, you’d make a natural leader to establish a SE Asian said governing body 😉 start a MEBA course: Masters in Ecological Business and Management 😉

  • Mazlyn Mustapha Roza Howton: Question: Does SE asia have an overseeing body that sets a standard? Answer: Let me check with the lecturer. Statement: you’d make a natural leader to establish a SE Asian said governing body. Answer: I’ll take that as a compliment 🙂 Statement:  start a MEBA course: Masters in Ecological Business and Management. Answer: I’ve left academia 🙂 LOL, but I’ll suggest this to the right people….
  • Roza Howton Sometimes one does not recognise one’s own talent, but it shines gloriously bright and obvious to friends surrounding you 😉