A lot of people asked me why I care so much about Palestine and the fate of the people there. They are so far away from Malaysia. What about the people of Malaysia who are having problems such as poverty and injustice?

My answer is: I care for all of them.

In Malaysia, outside of Malaysia.

Everyday I try and do something, it doesn’t have to be a major thing, it could be something simple like write about an issue or share about it in facebook, write about it in my blog, help raise funds where it is needed and brought to my attention, sign and share petitions, and this has never been limited to issues affecting Malaysia alone.

My point is, it doesn’t always have to be giving financially. There are so many ways anyone can help if they wanted to. We can make a difference.

Face it, we live in a world where whatever we do, affects someone, somewhere else.

I also believe that everything I do counts, no matter how big or small.

I also think that pictures paint a thousand words, so instead of writing a detailed blog post, I am sharing one image from many:

dinding
The Wall In Palestine built by Israel. Picture taken from “Understand the Israeli -Palestinian Apartheid in 11 Images”. I was shocked to see this wall for the first time, as I am sure a lot of other people would be too. If you like movies, you will see the wall in the movie World War Z (2013 with Brad Pitt).

Another reason why I care so much for the people of Palestine is that, for as long as I could remember, for as long as I have lived, the Palestinian people have suffered and continue to suffer. There has not been any true peace or freedom.

The article sums it well but I will write the main points here:

  1. Forced exile of Palestinian people
  2. Continued military occupation for 2 decades
  3. Displacement and destruction of homes
  4. Cycle of violence and aggression
  5. Illegal detention
  6. Gaza water confined & contaminated
  7. Uprooted 800,000 olive trees since 1967
  8. Segregated road system: colour of license plate dictates which road you can drive on
  9. The wall is illegal

No wonder people are comparing the Israeli occupation to Apartheid.

